North Carolina's **Award-Winning Creative Writers**

North Carolina's most well-known literary awards are given each year at the annual meeting of the North Carolina Literary and Historical Association. A list of the winners in each creative writing category provides a glimpse of the names of some of the state's best writers, along with titles of their outstanding books. The Web site of the North Carolina Collection at the library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill <http://www.lib.unc.edu/ncc/> maintains an up-to-date list of these winners, as well as a list of the winners of the Mayflower Cup, awarded each year for the best work of nonfiction. The list below is taken from that Web site.

Roanoke-Chowan Award Winners Since 1953

sponsor: Roanoke-Chowan Group of Writers and Allied Artists category: Poetry

- 1953 Frank Borden Hanes. Abel Anders
- 1954 Thad Stem, Jr. The Jackknife Horse

1955 No award

- 1956 Helen Bevington. A Change of Sky
- 1957 Dorothy Edwards Summerrow. Ten Angels Swearing
- 1958 Paul Bartlett. Moods and Memories
- 1959 Olive Tilford Dargan. The Spotted Hawk
- 1960 Carl Sandburg. (Total of his work)
- 1961 Carl Sandburg. Wind Song
- 1962 Helen Bevington. When Found, Make a Verse Of
- 1963 Herman Salingar. A Sigh Is the Sword
- 1964 E. S. Gregg. Reap Silence
- 1965 Randall Jarrell. The Lost World
- 1966 Thad Stem, Jr. Spur Line
- 1967 Walter Blackstock. Leaves Before the Wind
- 1968 Paul Baker Newman. The Cheetah and the Fountain
- 1969 Guy Owen. The White Stallion, and Other Poems
- 1970 Charles Edward Eaton. On the Edge of the Knife
- 1971 Paul Baker Newman. The Ladder of Love
- 1972 Fred Chappell. The World Between the Eyes
- 1973 Ronald H. Bayes. The Casketmaker
- 1974 Campbell Reeves. Coming Out Even
- 1975 Marian Cannon. Another Light
- 1976 Fred Chappell. River: A Poem
- 1977 Norman W. MacLeod. The Distance

- 1978 Mary Louise Medley. Seasons and Days
- 1979 Fred Chappell. Bloodfire: A Poem
- 1980 Fred Chappell. Wind Mountain: a Poem
- 1981 James Applewhite. Following Gravity
- 1982 Thomas Heffernan. The Liam Poems
- 1983 Reynolds Price. Vital Provisions
- 1984 Betty Adcock. Nettles
- 1985 Fred Chappell. Castle Tzingal
- 1986 James Applewhite. Ode to the Chinaberry Tree and Other Poems
- 1987 Charles Edward Eaton. New and Selected Poems, 1942-1987
- 1988 Lochlin Walker. Musings While Adrift
- 1989 Fred Chappell. First and Last Words
- 1990 Sam Ragan. Collected Poems of Sam Ragan
- 1991 Charles Edward Eaton. A Guest on Mild Evenings
- 1992 Julie Suk. The Angel of Obsession
- 1993 James Applewhite. A History of the River
- 1994 Judy Goldman. Wanting to Know the End
- 1995 Robert Watson. The Pendulum
- 1996 Fred Chappell. Spring Garden: New and Selected Poems
- 1997 James L. Seay. Open Field, Understory: New and Selected Poems
- 1998 Kathryn Stripling Byer. Black Shawl

AAUW Award Winners Since 1953

sponsor: American Association of University Women category: Juvenile Books

1953 Ruth and Latrobe Carroll. Peanut 1954 Mebane Holoman Burgwyn. Penny Rose 1955 Ruth and Latrobe Carroll. Digby, the Only Dog 1956 Julia Montgomery Street. Fiddler's Fancy 1957 Nell Wise Wechter. Taffy of Torpedo Junction 1958 Ina B. Forbus. The Secret Circle 1959 Thelma Harrington Bell. Captain Ghost 1960 Jonathan Daniels. Stonewall Jackson 1961 Glen Rounds. Beaver Business 1962 Manley Wade Wellman. Rifles at Ramsour's Mill 1963 Julia Montgomery Street. Dulcie's Whale 1964 Randall Jarrell. The Bat-Poet 1965 Alexander Key. The Forgotten Door 1966 Richard Walser and Julia Montgomery Street. North Carolina Parade, Stories of History and People 1967 Glen Rounds. The Snake Tree 1968 Neal F. Austin. A Biography of Thomas Wolfe 1969 Mary Lina Bledsoe Gillet. Bugles at the Border 1970 Mebane Holoman Burgwyn. The Crackajack Pony 1971 Suzanne Newton. Purro and the Prattleberries 1972 No award 1973 Barbara M. Parramore. The People of North Carolina 1974 Suzanne Newton. C/o Arnold's Corners 1975 Alexander Key. The Magic Meadow

- 1976 Glen Rounds. Mr. Yowder and the Lion Roar Capsules
- 1977 Ruth White Miller. The City Rose
- 1978 Suzanne Newton. What Are You Up To, William Thomas?
- 1979 Suzanne Newton. Reubella and the Old Focus Home
- 1980 Caroline B. Cooney. Safe As the Grave
- 1981 No award
- 1982 Suzanne Newton. M. V. Sexton Speaking
- 1983 Glen Rounds. Wild Appaloosa
- 1984 Belinda Hurmence. Tancy
- 1985 Catherine Petroski. The Summer That Lasted Forever
- 1986 Nancy Tilly. Golden Girl
- 1987 Sue Ellen Bridgers. Permanent Connections
- 1988 Lila Hopkins. Eating Crow
- 1989 Belinda Hurmence. The Nightwalker
- 1990 Lila Hopkins. Talking Turkey
- 1991 Suzanne Newton. Where Are You When I Need You?
- 1992 Bill Brittain. Wings
- 1993 Christina Askounis. The Dream of the Stone
- 1994 Joanne Compton. Ashpet: An Appalachian Tale
- 1995 Joanne and Kenn Compton. Sody Sallyratus
- 1996 William Hooks. Freedom's Fruit
- 1997 Gloria Houston. Littlejim's Gift: An Appalachian Christmas Story
- 1998 Jacqueline Ogburn. Jukebox Man

Sir Walter Raleigh Award Winners Since 1952 sponsor: The Historical Book Club of Greensboro

category: Fiction

- 1952 Paul Green (for Outstanding Literary Achievement)
- 1953 Inglis Fletcher (for Outstanding Literary Achievement) Frances Gray Patton. The Finer Things of Life
- 1954 Ovid Williams Pierce. The Plantation
- 1955 Frances Gray Patton. Good Morning, Miss Dove
- 1956 Frances Gray Patton. A Piece of Luck
- 1957 Doris Betts. Tall Houses in Winter
- 1958 Betty Smith. Maggie-Now
- 1959 Ernest Frankel. Band of Brothers
- 1960 Ovid Williams Pierce. On a Lonesome Porch
- 1961 Frank Borden Hanes. The Fleet Rabble
- 1962 Reynolds Price. A Long and Happy Life
- 1963 Richard McKenna. The Sand Pebbles
- 1964 John Ehle. The Land Breakers
- 1965 Doris Betts. The Scarlet Thread
- 1966 Heather Ross Miller. Tenants of the House
- 1967 John Ehle. The Road
- 1968 Sylvia Wilkinson. A Killing Frost
- 1969 Bynum Shaw. The Nazi Hunter
- 1970 Guy Owen. Journey for Joedel
- 1971 John Ehle. Time of Drums
- 1972 Daphne Athas. Entering Ephesus
- 1973 Fred Chappell. The Gaudy Place
- 1974 Doris Betts. Beasts of the Southern Wild and Other Stories
- 1975 John Ehle. The Changing of the Guard

- 1976 Reynolds Price. The Surface of Earth
- 1977 Sylvia Wilkinson. Shadow of the Mountain
- 1978 Mary Sheppard. All Angels Cry
- 1979 Daphne Athas. Cora
- 1980 Guy Owen. The Flim-Flam Man and Other Stories
- 1981 Reynolds Price. The Source of Light
- 1982 Lee Zacharias. Lessons
- 1983 Lee Smith. Oral History
- 1984 Reynolds Price. Private Contentment
- 1985 John Ehle. Last One Home
- 1986 Reynolds Price. Kate Vaiden
- 1987 Marianne Gingher. Bobby Rex's Greatest Hit
- 1988 Lawrence Rudner. The Magic We Do Here
- 1989 Lee Smith. Fair and Tender Ladies
- 1990 Allan Gurganus. Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All
- 1991 Kaye Gibbons. A Cure for Dreams Peter Turchi. Magician
- 1992 Angela Davis-Gardner. Forms of Shelter
- 1993 John Russell. Favorite Sons
- 1994 Michael Parker. The Geographical Cure: Novellas and Stories
- 1995 Tim McLaurin. Cured by Fire
- 1996 G. Dan Gearino. What the Deaf-Mute Heard
- 1997 Charles Frazier. Cold Mountain
- 1998 Clyde Edgerton. Where Trouble Sleeps